Introduction to sections

Available for

  • Beginner
  • Pro
  • Business

It’s always easier to take on a big project when you split it into easily manageable parts using sections.

Organize your projects with sections to group your tasks together. This provides a better overview of what needs to be done.

Add sections to your project, drag the relevant tasks to the section they belong in, and you’ll find it a lot easier to make progress (instead of getting overwhelmed by a single long list).

Add a section to a project

  1. At the top-right of a project, click the three dots icon.
  2. Select Add Section.
  3. Type the name of your section and click Add Section.

Quick tip

Create a section directly above or below an existing section by hovering your mouse in between sections and clicking the Add section line that appears.

Add tasks to a section

Keep your projects organized by adding tasks to your sections.

Add a new task to a section

There are four ways in which you can add a new task to a section:

  • Create the task anywhere in the project, then drag the task under the section (make sure the section is expanded before you drag the task).
  • Expand the section you wish to add the new task to, then click the Add task option.
  • If you are already in the project that has the section you want to add the task to, type / followed by the section's name (for example: /Meetings). If you are not in the project with the section you want to add the task to, you can type # followed by the project's name, then / followed by the section's name (for example: #Work /Meetings).
  • Click the task to open the task view, then either use the projects icon or type /Section Name directly after the task name, to add the task to a section.

Add an existing task to a section

There are two ways in which you can add an existing task to a section:

  1. Expand the section you wish to add the new task to, if needed.
  2. Drag the task into the section.
  3. Click the task to open the task view.
  4. Use the projects icon or type /Section Name directly after the task name.

If the task isn't in the same project as the section:

  1. Click the task to open the task view.
  2. Click the projects icon to select a new project and section.

Quick tip

In task name, enter # followed by the project's name. Then, enter / followed by the section's name (for example: #Work /Meetings). This lets you quickly assign the task to a new project and section. If you need to move several tasks to a section, use multi-select.

Rename a section

Quick tip

If you're using Todoist on a computeror in a browser on a mobile deviceyou can quickly and easily change the name of a section by opening the project the section belongs to and then clicking the section's name.
  1. Click on a section’s name.
  2. Type the new name of your section.
  3. Click Save.

Move a section

Would you like to see your section listed in a different position in your project? Easily rearrange it:

Simply drag the section to its new position and let go.

Added a section to the wrong project or simply need to relocate it? Just move it!

Warning

If your section is in a team project, you will only be able to move it to another project in the same team.
  1. To the right of a section, click the three dots icon.
  2. Select Move section.
  3. Click on the project you want to move your section to. 

When you move a section to another project, all the tasks in the section are moved to that project.

Duplicate a section

Duplicate a section and all its tasks by clicking the three dots icon to the right of the section name and selecting Duplicate section.

Archive a section

Archive a section in the project at any time. Tasks that are in an archived section are marked as completed. 

  1. To the right of a section, click the three dots icon.
  2. Select Archive section.
  3. Click Archive to confirm.

To view the archived section, click View at the top right of the project and turn on Completed tasks. Archived sections will appear greyed out and tasks in these sections are shown as completed.

Quick tip

To restore an archived section, click the three dots icon to the right and select Unarchive section. The tasks in the section will remain completed.

Delete a section

Delete a section permanently if you don't need to refer back to it and its tasks.

Warning

When deleting a section, it will delete all its active and completed tasks. To recover a deleted section, import a backup.

To delete a section but keep its tasks, select the tasks and tap the Move to... icon to move them to another section or project.

  1. To the right of a section, click the three dots icon.
  2. Select Delete section.
  3. Click Delete to confirm.

FAQ

You can create up to 20 sections per project.

No, these details can only be added to tasks.

No, sections can’t be assigned to users.

No, you can only archive a section. To receive karma for any active tasks in the section, make sure to complete the tasks first.

No, you can only archive sections and projects. You can instead either complete or delete individual tasks.

No, if you want to archive your section but keep its active tasks, you’ll need to move them out of the section. A quick way to do this is to multi-select the tasks and then select which section or project you want to move them to.

Yes, special characters such as # " ( ) | & ! _ - or , are supported.